Polish Nobel laureates

Fischer 2660-2663 | Michel 2808-2811 | Scott 2517-2520 | Year of issue 1982 | People's Republic of Poland

Henryk Sienkiewicz
Władysław Reymont

Maria Curie-Skłodowska
Czesław Miłosz


Henryk Sienkiewicz (1846-1916), writer, won the Nobelprize for literature in 1905 for his epic novel "Quo Vadis?".
Władysław Stanisław Reymont (1867-1925, his real name was Reyment), writer, won the Nobelprize for literature in 1924 for his national epic "Chłopi" (The Peasants).
Maria Curie-Skłodowska (1867-19340), chemist and physician, generally known as Madamme Curie. Born in Warsaw, the French physician died of leukemia after working with radioactivity for about 40 years. In Warsaw, she worked as a governess to save money to be able to study in Paris. She and her husband Pierre Curie won the Nobelprize for physics in 1903 with Antoine Becquerel for their research for magnetism and radioactivity. After Pierre's death, she won the Nobelprize for chemistry in 1911 for isolating pure radium. She developped X-ray photography during World War I and from 1918 until her death in 1934, she was the manager of the Radium Institute in Paris.
Czesław Miłosz (born in 1911), writer, won the Nobelprize for literature in 1980.

Relevant pages

Henryk Sienkiewicz is also displayed on: Fischer 240, Fischer 640, Fischer 1515 and Fischer 3226
Władysław Reymont is also displayed on: Fischer 1670
Maria Curie-Skłodowska is also displayed on: Fischer 425, Fischer 434, Fischer Sheet 10, Fischer 557, Fischer 766, Fischer 1265, Fischer 1630-1632, Fischer 3227, Fischer 3578, Fischer 3938


Nobel Prize
List of Nobel laureates
Nobel Prize in Literature
Henryk Sienkiewicz
Władysław Reymont
Marie Curie
Czesław Miłosz