Introduction to Galician cancellations on the stamps of Austria

Before Poland recovered its independence in 1918, Austrian, Prussian and Russian stamps were used on Polish land. Austrian occupied Poland was called Galicia. Placenames used for Austrian cancellations are displayed mostly in both Austrian and Polish. In some cases, only the Austrian name was used.

Saybusch (Austrian) and ┼╗ywiec (Polish)
cancellation on Austria Michel 38 (issued in 1867)

Click here for the menu for Polish cancellations on Austrian postage stamps Fischer 1-226


Polish (Galician) post offices of former Austrian territories (
Post offices of former Austrian territories (
The Austrian Philatelic Society and the world of Austrian Stamps (